Who we are ...

The ENGAGE-Team is composed of a dynamic group of experienced, internationally renowned specialists on the one hand, and upcoming young geomorphologists on the other hands. The common, but also the more special tasks in teaching and research are actively supported by our experienced technical and administrartive staff.

The ENGAGE-Team is now shortly presented, giving reference to more detailed sources of information.


Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Geogr. Dr.
Thomas Glade

Room: A0504
T: +43-1-4277-48650
M: +43-664-60277-48650
thomas.glade@univie.ac.at
Further information

Personal web site

Working group leader

  • Geomorphological systems
  • Natural hazards and consequences thereof
  • Hazard and risk analysis, monitoring
  • Risk governance

B.Sc. B.A.
Thomas Binder

thomas.binder@univie.ac.at

Study assistant

  • Support in data management and field work

PhD
Juan Du

duj91@univie.ac.at

Visiting Post-Doc

  • Landslide hazard assessment (local/ regional)
  • Statistical modelling
  • 3D and 2D numerical simulation (soil landslide/ rock fall)

B.Sc.
Robert Fahrngruber

Room: 2A186
T: +43-1-4277-48677
robert.fahrngruber@univie.ac.at
Further information

Technician

  • Technical support of the working group
  • Maintenance and administration of the field equipment

B.Sc.
Lucia Felbauer

Room: A0506
T: +43-1-4277-48605
lucia.felbauer@univie.ac.at

Project administration

  • European and national projects
  • Management

PhD
Katalin Gillemot

Room: A0504
T: +43-1-4277-48654
katalin.gillemot@univie.ac.at

Post-Doc

  • Granular flows
  • Gravitational mass movements
  • Numerical modelling

Mag.
Stefan Haselberger

Room: B0508
T: +43-(0)1-4277-48752
stefan.haselberger@univie.ac.at

PhD Student

  • Dissertation within the project PHUSICOS

M.Sc.
Damir Hatunic

Room: B0508
M: +43-(0)677 619 50615
damir.hatunic@univie.ac.at

PhD Student

  • Process geomorphology
  • Slope processes, landslides
  • Early warning systems
  • Effects of global change
  • Natural hazards and risk research

M.Sc.
Anna Iglseder

Room: C0418
M: +43-1-4277-48654
anna.iglseder@univie.ac.at

Human Impact and Connectivity

PhD student

  • Use of remote sensing in monitoring of process geomorphology
  • Connectivity and human impact
  • Data processing and statistical analyses

B.Sc.
Matthias Konzett

Zimmer: B0508
matthias.konzett@univie.ac.at

Study assistant within the PHUSICOS project

  • Slope processes in high mountain environments
  • Sediment-Fingerprinting
  • Statistical modelling

Dipl.-Geogr. Dr.
Sabine Kraushaar

Room: B0502
T: +43-1-4277-48659
sabine.kraushaar@univie.ac.at
Further information

Personal web site

Post-Doc

  • Desertification
  • Sediment archives and -budgets
  • Bedrock - Topography - Soil
  • Reasons for water scarcity
  • Critical geography

M.Sc.
Qigen Lin

Room: B0508
linq91@univie.ac.at

Visiting PhD Student

  • Landslides in a changing climate
  • Statistical landslide susceptibility mapping
  • Machine learning method application
  • Spatial modelling

M.Sc.
Pedro Henrique Muniz Lima

Room: B0502
pedro.lima@univie.ac.at

PhD Student

  • Natural hazards
  • Spatial analysis
  • Statistical landslide susceptibility analysis


Martina Mann

Room: B0508

martina.mann@univie.ac.at

Study assistant

  • Administrative support of the working group

Mag.
Nina Marlovits

Room: B0504
T: +43-1-4277-48753
nina.marlovits@univie.ac.at
Further information

Phd Student

  • Landslides
  • Consequences of climate change
  • Computer simulation
  • Hazard analysis

PD Dr.
Martin Mergili

Room: B0504
T: +43-1-4277-48753
martin.mergili@univie.ac.at
Further information
UNIVIE Homepage

Personal web site

Post-Doc

  • Development of GIS-supported landslide simulation tools (release and propagation)
  • High-mountain environmental changes (patterns and evolution of glacial lakes)

Mag. Dr.
Ronald Pöppl

Room: B0503
T: +43-1-4277-48653
ronald.poeppl@univie.ac.at
Further information

Personal web site

Human Impact and Connectivity

Senior Lecturer
Leader of the sub-working group Human Impact and Connectivity

  • Fluvial geomorphology
  • Connectivity
  • Human-landscape interactions
  • Landscape ecology

Mag.
Stefan Premm

T: +43-664-9215511
stefan.premm@gmx.at

PhD Student

  • Applied geomorphology
  • Geology, soil, vegetation
  • GIS applications

B.Sc.
Christian Prochaska


christian.prochaska@univie.ac.at

Human Impact and Connectivity

Study assistant

  • Sub-working group Human Impact and Connectivity

M.Sc
William Ries

Room: B508
T: +43-1-4277-48605
william.ries@univie.ac.at
Further information

PhD Student

  • Spatial analysis
  • Natural hazards and risks
  • Remote sensing

M.Sc.
Hanna Schechtner


hanna.schechtner@univie.ac.at

Project administration

  • ExtremA 2018
  • Support with field work

Dr.
Elmar M. Schmaltz

T: +43-7416-52-108-70
elmar.schmaltz@baw.at
elmar.schmaltz@univie.ac.at
Further information

Research Fellow

  • Head of Department "Hydrology of small Catchments and Erosion" at the Federal Agency for Water Management (Austria)

Helmut Slawik

Room: A0506
T: +43-1-4277-48605
helmut.slawik@univie.ac.at
Further information

Secretariat

  • Support in general administrative issues

M.Sc.
Margherita J. Stumvoll

Room: B0508
margherita.stumvoll@univie.ac.at
Further information

PhD Student

  • Long-term monitoring of gravitational mass movements
  • Coordination within the NoeSLIDE project
  • Landscape development (mesoscale)
  • Theoretical geomorphology